Thursday, July 7

A Pet Peeve Post

Reading over some post on BYC brings me to my latest pet peeve...

People that raise their own CHICKENS to EAT should process them themselves.  One they are missing out on that feeling of accomplishment and two it is something I think everyone should do.  It is not that hard to do.

I just don't understand why if you are going to raise animals why you don't have the stomach to kill them too?  I was always taught that it is okay that you don't like to do it, but you should be able to do it.  I have had to kill chicks and ducklings.  I shot a rooster a few months back.  We processed 22 chickens in about 4 hours when we did our meaties.  Plus after feeding the birds for weeks it isn't cost effective to pay someone to process them.

We pay someone to do our steers- but that is 500-600 lbs of meat.  If we had the setup to do it though, we would.  We process our own deer and turkeys though.  Knowing how to kill and cut up an animal is a survival skill- no matter where you live or what kind of background you have.  There would be less hungry people in this world if people knew how to do this. 

I think it should be required in school to learn native edible plants, how to cook on an open fire, and how to cut up small animals (and large).  It irritates me to see a homeless guy standing on the highway with a sign reading God Bless You- I am hungry and Broke---when a few feet up the road someone has hit a rabbit or squirrel...  Most likely he saw them hit it, if it wasn't just completely ruined he could have snatched it up, skinned and gutted it and roasted it on a fire.  The road ditches are filled with tiger lillies and blackberries this time of the year.  Did you know that most of the tiger lilly plant is edible?

I read a blog post the other day all about eating tiger lilies- very informational.  Also there are wild onions, morels in the spring, gooseberries, wild plums, wild grapes, and many many other plants and trees that are filled with vegetation!

I really think it should be a middle school requirement to learn about it all.  Our country expects our men and women to go fight in a war and kill humans, but yet most have never even killed a squirrel the humane way--a bullet.

I read gardening posts about poisoning and drowning squirrels- just sick!  I would rather be shot than poisoned or drowned! 

Now I am not claiming that I know how to gut and skin everything, but I think I know enough that I could get by.  .22 shells are cheap and if you don't have a gun you can always revert back to indian ways and use a bow and arrow, sling shot, or spear.  Also you can set small animal traps.

Homeless people wouldn't be so hungry and broke if they would revert back to the ways of their ancestors.  They could trap animals--sell the pelts feed their families.  So many people are just used to relying on other people it makes me so mad.

I wish we could just move away and become hill people.  Yes Hill people may be poor, but they don't care- they are fed and clothed well enough for them.  They work hard and enjoy life.  The simple things in life.  While computers are nice, I think they are ruining this world.  If we ever go into a depression and have war or something this country will fall quickly.  I am surprised that so many people overlook this.

I was reading yesterday that in Indiana they are banning teaching cursive writing in schools.  They have to teach typing instead.  How are kids going to know how to sign their name?  They won't be able to read cursive or enjoy a nice handwritten love letter. 

Which brings me to another pet peeve--DIVORCE.  Yes I feel that there are times when Divorce is needed, but these days it is so common that it is almost expected.  More times than I care to think about I have heard the phrase "I wonder how long it will last?"  Most people say I'll give it a year.  I plan on being with my husband until we die.  Till Death Do Us Part.  Did you know that some people take that out of the wedding ceremony? sheesh!  I don't understand why so many are getting divorces these days?  My parents have been together for 35 years come December--that should not be weird, that should be the norm.  Sure they have had their arguments-- but they NEVER fought in front of us kids and they never went to bed mad at each other.  My husband and I will celebrate 5 years in about a week.  I think most things can be worked out-if people just try.  Cheating is never okay- and usually the problem is not just cheating- there is usually a problem before the cheating that has been over looked.  You need to find the root of the problems before trying to work it all out.  I am not an expert and I know I am not, but seriously I cry for this world.  It is so sad what we have came to.

okay I will quit rambling and venting for today.

1 comment:

Purewater said...

Amen, sister! I agree with all your pet peeves!

It took me a while to be able to kill a living creature, not being raised that way, but I knew that was what needed to happen! Everyone would be much better off if they could also come to that realization.

We really agree with the idea of teaching about edible plants and survival skills in school. That's one reason we homeschool, because those skills are so much more important than many of the things taught at public school!

And I'm with you on the divorce issue as well. People just assume that all marriages are temporary, which will be the downfall of our society! There wouldn't be such an issue as homosexual "marriages", had more folks kept their view of traditional marriage sacred! But throw out marriage and everything else will take it's place!

OK, so your post struck a nerve. I'm suprised that you did not get many comments from this one!

God bless,

~Eric